Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Komodo National Park

Komodo National Park consists of three islands, namely the island of Komodo, Rinca island and Padar island, and 26 large islands / other small. As many as 11 fruit mountain / hill in the Komodo National Park with the highest peak is Mount Satalibo (± 735 meters dpl).

The state of nature that is dry and arid makes a unique. The existence of the savanna area, the limited water sources and the temperature is quite hot; fact is that the habitat be a beast by ancient Komodo dragons (Varanus komodoensis).

Most of the national park is a savanna with papyrus (Borassus flabellifer) the most dominant and characteristic. Some plants in the Komodo National Park, among others, rattan (Calamus sp.), Bamboo (Bambusa sp.), Tamarind (Tamarindus indica), bulging (Sterculia foetida), bidara (Ziziphus jujuba), and mangrove (Rhizophora sp.)

In addition to typical Komodo animals, there are deer (Cervus timorensis floresiensis), wild pig (Sus scrofa), ajag (Cuon alpinus javanicus), wild horse (Equus qaballus), wild buffalo (Bubalus bubalis); 2 turtle species, 10 types of dolphins , 6 types of whales and cow have seen in the sea Komodo National Park.

Potential of marine life in the national parks is recorded as 259 types of coral and 1,000 species of fish such as barakuda, Marlin, yellow tail, red kakap, baronang, and others.

Komodo National Park is a national asset to support technical assistance for the international management, and has been defined as a World Natural Heritage Site and Cagar Biosfir by UNESCO.

No comments:

Post a Comment